question

jeffb avatar image
jeffb asked

SmartShunt Settings and State of Charge

I was required to select a topic, and BMV seemed most relevant, as my main question is about the SmartShunt - which should be included in that category.

I've been using a SmartSolar MPPT 100/30 for a couple years now, and have a good understanding of the normal electrical usage on our RV. I recently added a SmartShunt to be able to monitor battery power more closely, especially when charging from sources other than our solar panel - like shore power or a generator or from the tow vehicle. I've only used it a few days, so still figuring out the proper settings. I have a 210A-hr lead-acid battery bank. The default settings of 13.2V Charged Voltage and 4% Tail Current had the State of Charge resetting to 100% much too early - well before bulk charging was finished. So I tweaked both of those for the expected charged conditions from the MPPT charge controller, but then realized that when recharging from shore power, I'll never get over 14V, so the Tail Current will probably be the main thing which determines 100% charged. The second day I was watching the charging progress carefully, and the MPPT switched from Bulk to Absorption at 14.4V (about 92% indicated SoC with about 20A-hrs to go) and then switch to Float right as the SmartShunt indicated 100% SoC and 0A-hrs consumed. For networked devices - how come you don't have the charger tell the battery monitor (over the VE.Smart network) when the battery is fully charged? The charger switching into Float mode seems a more accurate indication of 100% charged than parameters in the battery monitor.