question

traveller avatar image
traveller asked

The battery loses capacity within the range of a few days, whereby the potential of available sunlight is not used to recharge the battery. Any suggestions?

Dear community

I’m a total newbie to solar power, so please excuse my non-knowledge and the questions related to it. I looked at the wiring-manual, but couldn’t find a matching systemdescription.

The situation: Campervan, 12V car battery; daily electrical usage roughly 10-15Ah or 120-200Wh

• Battery: 12V, 90Ah, (C20) – 8 weeks old, never discharged below 12.1 V, range of temperature 5-15°C
  • Solar panel : 85W
  • Charger: SmartSolar MPPT 75/10 on Factory settings (GEL VICTRON DEEP DISCHARGE (2))(Absorption: 14.40V, Float: 13.80V, “Ausgleichsspannung”: 16.20V

Problem:
The battery loses capacity within the range of a few days, whereby the potential of available sunlight is not used to recharge the battery. Any suggestions?

1. Presently the battery is at 12.2V (which I equal with 30-40%), meaning 50-60Ah have been used and should/could be recharged – correct?
  2. 50-60Ah resembles roughly 600-700Wh at 12V – correct?
  3. After only 50Wh of charging the (battery)voltage is already at 14.4V, and the charger switches from “bulk” to “absorbtion” and at 110Wh to “float”-mode. The maximum charge in one day with ample sunlight is only between 120-160Wh – resulting in observation 1.
  4. Is the factory setting appropriate for a regular lead-acid liquid battery, or what would be the correct battery settings?

If anyone’s willing to share some insights regarding the insufficient charging, I’d deeply appreciate it – thank you.

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
marekp avatar image
marekp answered ·

To me it looks like everything is working properly.

The lead battery should not be discharged below 50% of its capacity, and MPPT controller is acting accordingly.