question

vanlifer007 avatar image
vanlifer007 asked

Bluesolar 100/50 & YUASA battery Preset, new to victron please help!!

Hi Guys/Girls :)

I am new to the victron community, I just aquired a bluesolar MPPT 100/50 and VE.direct bluetooth dongle.

I am trying to set up the battery but I am confused as to what preset to use. can you please help, I have attached my battery specs below.

I have 8x of these batteries wired in parralel and the wiring is balanced :)

what is the cyclic charge? in my case does it mean absoption or equalization.

how shall I set the settings below:

- Maximum absorption time
- Rebulk Voltage offset
- Equalization voltage
- Equalization current percentage
- Automatic equalization
- Maximum Equalization duration
- Tail current
- Temp compensation

and the rest of the settings

I have attached the battery specs below as well as screent victron connect battery setting.

I will very much appreciate if you can help me with the preset.

Many thanks for your help :)

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @Vanlifer007

What they mean by 'cyclic' is an aggressive charge if you draw the batts down on a daily (say) basis and need to charge them up as quickly as you can. Solar days can be shorter than you think..

With 8x in parallel, you won't want aggression, as imbalance is your enemy there (even if your wiring is good).

I'd pick a milder preset, like the 'Victron Gel OPzV' one, leave any Adaptive option On, and never use Equalize with those batts.

What you may find is that if you draw the batts down a good way, you may not get enough power from a 50A mppt to even reach Absorb V. They'll still accept charge of course, up to 50A if you have enough panel. And maybe force you to change your usage habits if you have only solar as a charge source.