question

robmwpropane avatar image
robmwpropane asked

RPi Without Screen?

Good day all. Tipping my toes in the Victron environment and I'd really like a way to monitor remotely via wifi (for less $$$). I understand that I can connect an RPi which is awesome but I have a few questions.

1.) Can I operate it just fine without a screen? Once setup besides adding things I doubt that I'll need to look at a screen all that much. If I can remote view / login based on the IP address then I'm fine with that. This is going into an rv which has its own network already setup, so the network the pi is connected to will never change. Or do I need the screen for some unforeseen issue?

2.) I see I can load VenusOS onto an rpi 2 w, 3, 4b etc. Because I'm not really asking it to do a whole lot, does it matter which version I choose? I have some limited experience with rpi's, not enough to know what the differences are. I currently have a smartshunt, mppt, and Mopeka sensors I'd like to connect if that matters. I'm sure some other stuff down the road. Would I be limited by the 2 w, or maybe the 4 b is lightning fast? Or maybe has better support?

I tried to search these questions here and Google but I see a lot of talk of what games versions can run and a lot of issues with screens, not any questions of lack of screens.

Raspberry Pi
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
Kevin Windrem avatar image
Kevin Windrem answered ·

The RPI version of Venus OS is "headless" (no local display) by default. In your application you would not need a local screen after you have configured Venus OS on the PI.

You should look at the cost of the PI plus the needed adapters VE.Direct to USB for each device, MK3 to USB for VE.Bus (inverters), CANbus USB, etc. A Cerbo GX or Cerbo S might be less money. These can run headless also.