question

rstarr avatar image
rstarr asked

Multiplus with Cerbo switches itself from charge only to inverter only

Today I installed the Touch 50 display and a temperature sensor for the BMV-712. The system started back up and ran fine for 2.5 hours and then all of a sudden it switched itself to inverter only. I shut it down, re-booted the Cerbo and changed it back to charge only. Initially I had the air conditioning running and it almost instantly switched back to inverter only, of course overloading before I could switch off the air conditioning. I've tested this without the AC and it will not switch right away but after 20 minutes or so it will switch again.

I can't seem to figure out what has happened. I've been using this setup for a couple years now switching the inverter status through the VRM portal with no issues.

I don't have any virtual switches setup.

Multiplus 12/2000/80-50 120v - v433

BMV-712 - v4.16

MPPT 100/50 - v1.64

Cerbo GX - v.3.33

system status on cerbo gx
2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

rstarr avatar image rstarr commented ·
Just to update...

I shut off the air conditioner and left it in charger only mode overnight while watching the status. I was thinking maybe it had something to do with me setting the charge only mode from the RV/Boat interface screen on the display. When you do this it displays a little "edit" icon in the box. If I set it through VRM or in the actual menu area of the Multiplus the "edit" icon is not displayed.

It operated all night with no issues and I felt that maybe there was some glitch there but then while I was programing a new tank sensor from the display the inverter shutdown completely. It displayed "OFF" on the main screen. After about 30 seconds it started up in inverter mode.

I'm really at a loss here, why would this default back to inverter even after a loss of power?

0 Likes 0 ·