question

hconnerelectrical avatar image
hconnerelectrical asked

Grid-tied Quattro for new installer

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Victron gear and just looking at designing first job.

Situation is, customer has a large property with micro hydro and solar which is in progress at the moment, but in the meanwhile he's bought a bunch of gear which he'd like to have a look at to incorporate the VRM with existing bms software going in to the new place.

Got a 10kva 48v Quattro, alongside 4 x PylonTech US5000, which I'm going to connect in two pairs of two up to his Lynx Distributer. There's (for the sake of this test setup!) no generating units, he just wants to charge his batteries on a cheaper tarriff at night, then use some of the power during the day when the tarriff is more expensive.

My main question is regarding the AC and the Quattro, can I run the entire house power (consumer unit) across the Quattro using the AC out, and then the Quattro automatically changes over to batteries when specified, or do I need to connect the Quattro like a seperate solar inverter where it's fed off a breaker from the consumer unit?

I'll attatch a sketch to demonstrate what I'm trying to get at!pxl-20240522-152742904.jpg

Essentially, what I want to know is, can a higher AC load than the Quattros inverting power of 10Kva pass through the Quattro if the house so happens to go over this load demand?

When the big job is getting nearer, plan is to move everything over into it, but one step at a time for me!

I'm based in Yorkshire, England for reference!

Appreciate the help in advance,

Harry C

quattro 10kva
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
ejrossouw avatar image
ejrossouw answered ·

@hconnerelectrical

"My main question is regarding the AC and the Quattro, can I run the entire house power (consumer unit) across the Quattro using the AC out"