question

bleon avatar image
bleon asked

MPPT 75/15 with 2x175W panel

Hello,

I've been using a Victron 175W solar panel + MPTT 75/15 for a few years, but need some more power now.
I thought I would add another 175W panel, which would double my power easily.
My battery is a 12v Lithium 280Ah.

Note: this is used in summer only no chance for below 5°C temp
The MPPT 75/15 max input voltage is 75V.
Panel Voc is 23.7 x 2 = 47.4V in series (mppt calc give 53.2 at -10°C)
Panel Impp x Vmpp = 9.03 * 19.4 = 175W

My understanding is that the MPPT job is to somehow convert the voltage/current to something suitable for the battery.
With two panels, my best case would be (19.4 x 2) * 9.03 = 350W
The MPPT would then convert that power to something suitable for the battery (around 14v), though limited by MPTT max current, 15A.

I know that I will waste some energy, but the oversizing is done so that the MPPT will give its maximum output current during a greater part of the day
than with a single panel.

So my question is why the MPPT 75/15 is indicated as max 220W (12v) while the calculation indicates it can accomodate 2x175W=350W panels without exceeding its 75V Voc.

Hope someone can help me understand this.
--
Bruno

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
Michelle Konzack avatar image
Michelle Konzack answered ·

Yes, you can use the panels in parallel..

The MPPT will simply cut any energy above 220W.

However, with oversizing you get a lot of more energy out and MUCH longer

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

jetlag avatar image
jetlag answered ·

This 220W is roughly the power you can pull out of an 15A charger at 14,6V battery voltage.

2 |3000

bleon avatar image
bleon answered ·