question

andre-3 avatar image
andre-3 asked

Python script for dbus Control with Multiplus equipment in context with Fronius Wattpilot

Dear community,

Matthias asked me for an english version as he moved the article. Here we go!

I've been reading the forum for a while now and would like to make a contribution. A Victron system has been running here for about a year. I recently had it finally registered by the electrician. Our household has one electric car. This is usually not connected to the power supply on weekdays. It is charged via a Fronius Wattpilot 11J. To ensure that we use the maximum amount of energy ourselves, we always needed to optimize the charging settings. Just for the fun of it, I set myself a small project to automate a few processes. The project is implemented in Python. It's a hobby and I'm not a programmer. The control to the Multiplus is done via dbus. Errors are not impossible :)

Source code for those who are interested can be found here: https://github.com/MeAsSystemsEngineer/victron-dbus-wattpilot

1) Eco Mode - By default, the Eco Mode charges as long as PV surplus is available. This means that the house battery was emptied and then charging stopped. The consumers then drew power from the grid. That was suboptimal. I have introduced two changes here:
- The maximum discharge is 6 amps. As soon as there is no more PV surplus available and electricity has to be drawn from the grid, the WattPilot stops charging according to its hysteresis
- The maximum charge of the home battery depends on the charge level. The higher this is, the slower the house battery is charged.

2) Next Trip Mode - By default, Next Trip Mode charges as much power as is set in the app. A variable tariff is taken into account. I have also made changes here:
- The maximum discharge is 10 amps.
- I limit the charge to one phase so that the maximum current comes out of the battery