question

marcourba avatar image
marcourba asked

Min SoC without using ESS. Using PV assitant only (island system)

Hi everyone,

I was reading through all the questions about min SoC in this forum, but all of them are related to the ESS assistant.

In my case, I can't use it because my system is completely isolated from the grid. Is there any solution for my issue? Can I change any parameter on the inverter or Cerbo GX to achieve this?

I don't mind if the solution involves using Node-Red, Modbus TCP/IP, or whatever. If there is something, I'll go for it, but I have not found it by myself yet. I'm a bit of a beginner in this topic; I know a bit of Modbus, but Node-Red is completely new to me.

Thanks in advance to all of you.

SOCisland mode
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
thomasw-1 avatar image
thomasw-1 answered ·

What does prevent you using ESS in island mode?
From my point of view it should work also there - at least what I realized during some tests.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

marcourba avatar image
marcourba answered ·

Hello Thomas,

I appreciate your response. I'm not sure if ESS can be activated in off-grid systems, but even if it can, I've read that the minimum battery state of charge only activates while there is a grid.

Correct me if I'm wrong, hopefully, because it would be the solution to the problem. The truth is, I haven't tried it because, as I had read that information, well... I haven't tried it. Here's the link where I read that: https://www.victronenergy.com/media/pg/Energy_Storage_System/en/configuration.html#UUID-a3ff77bf-519c-cc4d-d0b1-ef567ab816d9

2 |3000

marcourba avatar image
marcourba answered ·