question

lance-c avatar image
lance-c asked

Battery not charging - PV voltage good

Complete newbie here, so go easy on me please. I was given a couple of Jinko JKM315P-72 315w panels by a buddy. I bought a MPPT 100/30 and wanted to test everything before I installed on my RV. I hooked up to my Optima battery on my Jeep, and discharged the battery a bit to see if it would charge. What on Earth am I doing wrong? I tried using a really discharged Interstate flooded battery (10v) to see if it didn't like the Optima, with the same results. Sunny and clear out. 2.jpg1.jpgimg-2934.jpegimg-2967.jpeg

MPPT Controllers
2.jpg (197.9 KiB)
1.jpg (320.3 KiB)
img-2934.jpeg (2.4 MiB)
img-2967.jpeg (7.8 MiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

6 Answers
ryanh avatar image
ryanh answered ·

Looking at the specs of the panel and the information showing on your MPPT, there is either a problem with the panels or, the panel placement. The MPPT is doing its job--taking 41.5v 0.2A to 12v 0.8A--it just isn't getting very much current to begin with.

Placement of the panel is very important. Even in full sun, the angel of the panel is significant. If you can, do your testing when sun is at its highest point, and lay them flat on the ground. I would test each panel separately, looking for a difference between the two in voltage or current.

Panels do degrade slightly over time, so depending on how old these are they may not put only either listed power even if nothing is wrong.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

lance-c avatar image
lance-c answered ·

I tested both panels independently, and laid them directly on the ground, stood them up, 45* angle, etc, in direct 85* Southern UT desert sun. Same results. Any other ideas?

2 |3000

kevgermany avatar image
kevgermany answered ·