question

Simon avatar image
Simon asked

Victron mppt 100/20 relay trigger at float

Hi all, newbie here, I'm new to victron but not new to solar.

My parents have a dual system of 2 victron mppt 100/20s, one at 12v and the other at 24v.

Is there a way to reliably ask the mppt controller to switch either the load on at float to trigger a relay for switching an inverter, on or can I use the virtual load to trigger this somehow?

I have a 600w epever inverter hooked up to the 24v battery bank and it runs a koi pond skimmer filter and air bubblers.

The system has s voltage dropper to provide the house with 12v lighting which runs through the load output but these are needed 24hrs a day.

The filters don't need to be on apart from at float but I'd like it, if like my outback fm60 the victron could trigger the inverter.

Is this possibly at all? Or would I need to trigger at a voltage set point?

Many thanks for reading and any help received.

Simon

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
Mark avatar image
Mark answered ·

I just had a look at VictronConnect and unfortunately it seems that you cant trigger the load output or even a VE.Direct TX digital cable based on the charge phase.

With the larger MPPT models there is an inbuilt relay and one of the options is to trigger the relay based on 'Float or storage state' - but this option does not seem to exist with your 100/20 MPPT.

So currently your only options is to see if one of the voltage trigger options for the load output might work for you, then run that output to trigger a relay for any larger loads.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

David avatar image
David answered ·