question

kevingeerts avatar image
kevingeerts asked

decouple/couple system when in winter storage

Hi Guys,

we recently purchased a second hand Beneteau Oceanis 430 and we will be putting it in winter storage (inside) to be able to work on the boat.

One of the things I wanna get a grasp of is the whole electrical system and how everything is wired.

At this stage I'm a complete newbie in the area of electricity in general but also in the wiring of the boat itself.

We have solar panels, a MPPT bluesolar 150/60 MC4, a BMV-702 battery monitor, a mulitplus 12V/3000va and AGM batteries.

One thing we will have to do when in winter storage is that we need to decouple the batteries if we are not present.

And that's where my question is how can I decouple our system when going away from the boat and then couple it again if we want to test something.

I assume that if we did not have the whole solar system it would be as simple as decoupling the negative terminal of the battery?

But what do we need to take into consideration with that MPPT and stuff?

Thanks a lot for any info/help!

Kevin

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
andr3i1990 avatar image
andr3i1990 answered ·

Do you need to physically decouple the batteries? Or software limit charging/discharging or turn off the whole system?

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kevingeerts avatar image kevingeerts commented ·
Hi, what I've heard so far from the owner of the winter storage is that they need to be physically decoupled. He said just detaching the the - terminals will do (apart from anything with the solar panels, he didn't know yet at that time we had this installation)

0 Likes 0 ·
matthias-nagel avatar image matthias-nagel commented ·