question

alexch avatar image
alexch asked

Low battery Sustain mode Li Ion

I've been using a Multiplus 5000 for a few months. Parallel to the grid, it charges a 20 KWH li ion (NOT Lifepo) battery from 17kwP solar.

Now that the days recently got darker and rainy, I have an increasing low battery problem. The MP5000 goes into sustain mode at 33% / 51.2V.

The voltage of my cells is in the range of 2.7 ... 4.2 V (2 parallel Blocks with each 15 cells, 60V if fully loaded). Everything in the ESS is configured so that discharge should take place until 43V.

So why does the MP5000 stop at 51.2? Which Option did i miss?

Multiplus-II
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

7 Answers
kevgermany avatar image
kevgermany answered ·

Have you checked the voltage settings in VE config using a MK3 USB adapter?

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

alexch avatar image
alexch answered ·

Of courses, That's what I mean when I wrote "ESS config".

2 |3000

seb71 avatar image
seb71 answered ·

Still, could you post screenshots with the Multiplus settings or upload the configuration file?

2 |3000

alexch avatar image
alexch answered ·

ess.jpg

ess2.jpg

summary.jpg

These are my values.

Just saw in summary my cutoff voltages (pic 3). Thought that DC input low shutdown would configure the off-voltage for battery loading (pic 1 39V). i am wrong, right, and should lower the voltages in ESS Setup? Would 46 - 45- 44 - 43V be OK?

Cell range 2,7 - 4,2 V.

ess.jpg (104.2 KiB)
ess2.jpg (93.8 KiB)
summary.jpg (50.6 KiB)
2 |3000

seb71 avatar image
seb71 answered ·

When using ESS, the battery voltages set in ESS Assistant are the ones used.

The battery voltages from Inverter tab are ignored (but those should still be set to correct values just in case you delete the ESS Assistant for some reason).