question

jakudo avatar image
jakudo asked

NodeRed - homekit noob question

Hi,

I'm thinking about installing a NodeRed on my Cerbo GX. Since I'm a noob in this, I'd like to ask you for the possibilities before I install it.

Is it possible to achieve this via Node-red:

- to trigger a a switch (or whatever) in Apple HomeKit based on the amount of the energy which is going back to grid?

For example:

1. When there is more than 1 kW (sum of all 3 phases) going back to grid, turn on the water pump (swimming pool filtration pump in Apple HomeKit).

or

2. When there is no power from MPPT, turn of a light.

Are those examples doable in Node-Red on Cerbo GX?

Thanks,

Jakub

Node-RED
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kevgermany avatar image kevgermany ♦♦ commented ·
@jakudo

Moved to modifications space.

1 Like 1 ·
2 Answers
matt1309 avatar image
matt1309 answered ·

Yes this is very achievable with node red.

I do the same for water heater when exporting but rather than communicating with Apple home kit I use local smart switches (shelly is the brand I like, as it's not reliant on external clouds, Http requests sends "on" signal to shelly smart switch).

3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

jakudo avatar image jakudo commented ·

I have to use HomeKit, since my whole home is based on it. I have many Sonoff and Shelly flashed to customers HomeKit enabled FW.

Thanks for the reply

0 Likes 0 ·
matt1309 avatar image matt1309 jakudo commented ·

I'm not clued up on homekit but I imagine they have an api that'll make it easy enough/similar to shelly/sonoff.

I have similar setup but I have multiple loads, if turn on load 1 if still exporting load 2 etc so can scale it really nicely in node red.

0 Likes 0 ·
jakudo avatar image jakudo matt1309 commented ·