question

leon-wildschut avatar image
leon-wildschut asked

Mppt 100/20 settings

Hey everybody,

I’m fairly new to this. So I could use a bit of help. I just got 2 100/20 mppt solar controllers. Using 2x100w panels per controller. And I have 3x180 ah flooded lead batteries (came with the boat). They will get upgraded eventually but for now they will have to do. My question is what settings do I need for my mppt controllers? Currently it’s on default (gel victron deep discharge 2).

I’ll attach the info I got from the manufacturer of the batteries. Thanks for the help!

kind regards,

Leon img-1936.png

MPPT Controllers
img-1939.png (1.2 MiB)
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

leon-wildschut avatar image leon-wildschut commented ·

Current settings. What do I put in absorption, float, and equalisation? Or are they good as it is?

0 Likes 0 ·
img-1937.png (246.2 KiB)
3 Answers
JohnC avatar image
JohnC answered ·

Hi @Leon Wildschut

The Gel(2) setting should be fine. One small issue you have is multiple parallel batts, which may experience imbalance as they age. Pushing them hard will only worsen this, so you could consider going to the less aggressive Gel(1) profile. But you don't have massive solar power compared to the bank size, so Gel(2) should be ok.

The time you spend in Absorb state might be worth keeping an eye on. Anything above ~2 hours might be excessive and warrant further tuning. Come back if that happens and we'll take a deeper look.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

leon-wildschut answered ·