question

hoogland avatar image
hoogland asked

AC COUPLED PV

Im basically a novice to victron here , i heard only good things about the victron community this far. I hope I dont get blasted for asking questions that are too simple for the experts here.

Ive just watched a video titled;

ESS (Energy Storage System) Webinar | 19 December 2016 | Victron Energy

I would like someone to explain what is meant by ''PV on the AC INPUT'' of a ac coupled system. Could someone show me via a more detailed wiring diagram what is meant by this , it reads confusing to me because it sounds like you're wiring pv wires to an actual ac input. I would like to see the actual terminals where the wiring of the pv would go into inverter setup like this .1685697607760.png

wiring diagram
1685697607760.png (49.0 KiB)
3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

matt1309 avatar image matt1309 commented ·

Hi @Hoogland

It's difficult to answer without typing paragraphs. Maybe a watching few more videos might clear things up. This explanation will be oversimplified (missing safety devices but will hopefully help clear things up a bit)

The AC coupled PV inverter isn't directly plugged into the Multiplus. It's just on the circuit that are also connected to multiplus on AC Side.

ie Your house distribution board has grid input. It also has grid tied PV inverter connected. And all of your loads run off this distribution board.

Then you decide to add a new circuit breaker and add a multiplus ii, this breaker would wire into ACIN on multiplus.