question

jhulcy avatar image
jhulcy asked

New install of Quattro 24/5000/120, (2) Tesla packs - Cannot start rooftop A/C even on shore power

I just recently began a project of installing electronics in my bus.I have a Quattro 24/5000/120 connected to two Tesla model S batteries. Even when I feed Shore power to AC one I cannot seem to start either of the 15,000 BTU rooftop AC units without the Quattro tripping off.

I am a total novice, so it could very well be something super obvious.

jason

inverter current draw
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

6 Answers
Paul B avatar image
Paul B answered ·

I think you should get a victron dealer to have alook maybe the one you purchased the unit off

I suspect that the tesla battery voltage is two low and thus the unit is turning off because of a low voltage or overcurrent as the voltage drops.

this would be my guess

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

jhulcy avatar image jhulcy commented ·

Bought it from Amazon. They are not too supportive.

Was hoping it was just some dumb error on my part.

I do think you are right about the battery being low. BMV 712, thinks batt is full so won’t allow charge. Not sure how to fix and don’t have equipment to test battery.

This is pretty much my setup minus the color controller and add BP220 between batt and system.

https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Quattro-system-example-5KW-24V-120V-AC.pdf

0 Likes 0 ·
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) avatar image
Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) answered ·

There is a long and quite exhaustive discussion about this similar thing :

https://community.victronenergy.com/questions/5217/tesla-model-s-battery-multiplus-can-not-turn-on-in.html

2 |3000

ben avatar image
ben answered ·