question

6ixgun avatar image
6ixgun asked

Advanced Charging settings for LifePO4

Question for the community . I have been 100% AGM for many years and consider myself an expert at it - but finally decided to convert one of my vans to LifePO4. No regrets so far its amazing but before I make any mistakes I have some questions. For reference , here is my setup and specs:

Victron MPPT 100/30 Solar Charger

Victron Orion TR-Smart DC:DC Charger

Victron Blue Smart IP22 x1 20A (AGM Vehicle Battery Bank 160AH)

Victron Blue Smart IP22 x1 30A (LifePO4 House Battery Bank 200AH)

The LifePO4 Manufacturer of the 200AH Smart Battery specs state :

15V Over Voltage Cutoff

14.6V Absorption

13.8V Float

10.8V Low Voltage Cutoff

I have little experience with LifePo4 - so pardon me if my questions are juvenile or if they cross over into the AGM realm - I am probably overthinking it - but I do need to come up to speed on this quickly because I am more than likely going to have a bunch of these conversions soon and I want to make sure I get it all right on my personal. vehicle before I mess up someone elses.

Questions:

1> Is it better to not fully charge the battery (i.e. 90% or 95% vs 100%) ?

2> If #1 is yes, 14.6V seems high - wouldn't I be better off charging @ 14.2V ?

3> It appears that "best practice" is to never leave the battery charger on 24/7 (i.e. trickle charging), if that is the case, would it make more sense to disable the float function ? If it cannot be disabled should I set it under 12.8V so it never comes on ?

4> AGM's were set it and forget it I just connected the trickle charger and let them stay on full time - assuming that is not advisable / not possible should I not leave the charger on full time (i.e. vehicle stored / docked) and only energize it just prior to using it to make sure its fully charged prior to a trip ?