question

wolferl avatar image
wolferl asked

Backup VenusOS while running on PI3

Hi all

I'm trying to backup my installation on a regular basis without removing the SD card from the pi.

Plan is, to have a cron job running and do it either to a network drive or a connectied USB key.

I found a promising post with a script to do that. Unfortunately, I would need gdisk installed. As there is no apt-get on VenusOS and I'm not really a pro on linux, does anyone have a clue how to install the gdisk package with OPKG?

To backup over the network NFS or SMB clients would be necessary as well, couldn't figure out how to install them either...

The script and description can be found here:

https://blog.networkprofile.org/backup-a-running-raspberry-pi-to-truenas-or-any-smb-share/

thank you

wolferl

Venus OSRaspberry Pi
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

4 Answers
mr-manuel avatar image
mr-manuel answered ·

I have a script for that on other Raspberries, but unfortunately it do now work completely on Venus OS since I'm not able to mount a CIFS share. If someone can help me with that, I can share the complete script here.

The relevant part should work for you, if you know how to mount a USB drive.

dd if=/dev/mmcblk0 of=/path/to/backup/folder/backup.img bs=1MB status=progress

gpart is not needed.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

deadrabbit avatar image deadrabbit commented ·
​HI @mr-manuel ,

i want to do a full backup of the sd card on a nfs share via VPN.

Therefore i changed your skript to mount a nfs share.

I have the problem, that dd leads to a reboot of the RPI. This also occours if i only use dd in the command line. Any hints?

0 Likes 0 ·
mr-manuel avatar image mr-manuel deadrabbit commented ·
Are you sure that the nfs share is really mounted?
0 Likes 0 ·
wolferl avatar image