question

rubicon avatar image
rubicon asked

MultiPlus Case Ground

I’m a bit confused. On the Victron website, multiple multiplus 3K - 12v electrical schematics show the case ground attached to a Lynx’s distributor not a separate chassis ground. I’m using a Blue Sea Power Bar not a Lynx distributor. Just like the Lynx, the bus bar will have a 4/0 chassis ground wire. Should I have a separate case ground or is it appropriate to run the case ground to the negative bus bar? I’m not an electrical engineer but it would appear the Lynx and bus bar function in a similar manner. Thanks in advance for the feedback.

Grounding
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
xe99 avatar image
xe99 answered ·

The Lynx distribution system is basically positive and negative bus bars with added features built in. I havn't seen that particular schematic but my guess is the Lynx negative distribution bus has a heavy gauge negative cable connected to it. If it does and this cable is bigger than or equal to the size of the multiplus earth/case ground, you can terminate the case ground on the Lynx busbar. If its smaller then you would need to terminate the case ground at the point where it grounds to the chassis, engine or grounding plate (boats). If your BlueSeas negative DC busbar is fed by a 4/0 cable from the chassis ground point you can use your busbar as the ground point for your inverter case earth/ground.