question

Dylan Tucker avatar image
Dylan Tucker asked

Another schematic review

campervan-schematic.jpg

Hi everyone - was hoping some kind folks could do me a massive favour and look over my campervan schematic. I've been a bit confused about wire gauges and fuses in particular, but between consulting other schematics and the Victron manuals have come up with this. In general all cable runs are short as everything is super compact in the one under-bed cabinet, excluding the starter battery to B2B charger run which is approx 2.5m. So perhaps the cable gauges are over the the top here, but it's a starting point. (This is my first time doing anything like this so please bear that in mind!)

One question I do have here is do I need to run both positive and negative cables from starter battery to B2B or can I just run the negative from the chassis into the B2B? This would help my cable run be easier/neater from the cabin to the load bay.

Thank you so much (and a happy new year!)

schematics
2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

l81ker avatar image l81ker commented ·

Hi Dylan, my opinion is that keeping the negative cables and not just relying on the chassis as a conductor is very wise. A bad/corroded ground connection to chassis can cause some serious problems. Keep them, it's worth the effort.

On a different and related point, I see your AC bonding is kind of 'here and there'. I strongly advise that you ensure all the AC bonding goes to a single common point, rather than as you have it. Consider taking the same approach to the DC negatives, i.e. avoid ground loops.

See e.g. Wikipedia as reference if you'd like to understand more on this.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ground_loop_(electricity)

0 Likes 0 ·
l81ker avatar image l81ker l81ker commented ·