question

trevor-1 avatar image
trevor-1 asked

mppt 450/100 individual string production not adding up to total production in vrm dashboard.

Hi Guys

Got my solar system about a month ago so I am fairly new to this solar thing and have alot of questions around my setup.I have learned alot from previous posts on this community but will probably be asking alot of questions in the near future.

Setup is as follows

3 x Multiplus2 48/5000/70-50 1 master 2 slave

mppt RS 450/100

3 x BYD Flex 5Kwh Batteries

23 x Ja Solar 415W panels.String 1-11North facing String 2 -12 west facing.

So my first question is,looking at my current setup I get the feeling I am waisting alot of yield from the panels due to the 100 A limit on the mppt which is seeing me get a max usable yield of about 5300-5500W.So my plan is to change the 450/100 for 2 x 250/100 daisy chained together to facilitate sync.Would this be a good call as In my mind that will alow me to draw 200 amps at 55V which would be 11 KW of solar in theory.I know my panels wont get their for now but would like to leave room for expansion.

My second question is why am I seeing about a 10% loss from individual string production to total production(see photo)I am loosing about 500-600 w/ hour.If I add the PV strings yield together is is less than the total displayed in the pv charger.

Thanx in advance

Trevor

vrm.jpg

MPPT Controllers
vrm.jpg (80.5 KiB)
3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

klim8skeptic avatar image klim8skeptic ♦ commented ·

23 x Ja Solar 415W panels.String 1-11North facing String 2 -12 west facing.

11 of These JA solar panels in series is well over the mppts PV voltage limit of 450v.

Plz check panel model number.

0 Likes 0 ·
trevor-1 avatar image trevor-1 klim8skeptic ♦ commented ·