question

johnny-nova avatar image
johnny-nova asked

Will solar power be enough? Newbie here

sketch-a.png

Hi,

Does anyone know if this idea below will work? (note: I am a newbie to 12V electrics)

I want to power off JUST SOLAR for a small camper van. That is build a system with 1x solar panel and 1x leisure battery only to power a small fridge (30L), some LED lights, MaxAir fan, 12V cigarette & USB sockets plus an inverter (1000W).

I figured if I oversize our battery and go for a 150-200Ah plus the largest wattage fixed panel to match and see if we can travel and power most of our appliances using just solar. If solar charging is not enough then I will add a DCDC charger later to this system.

I have chosen to go with the Lynx distributor (incl fuses) to make wiring more compact instead of separate positive and negative busbars and circuit breakers.

Have I missed anything in my attached wiring diagram?

The sizing of wires, fuses, Solar charger are still to be finalized but initial calcs indicate a 130-150Ah battery would be enough for our camping needs.

Thanks in advance for any comments

wiring diagram
sketch-a.png (34.9 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

8 Answers
cargol66 avatar image
cargol66 answered ·

Hi Johnny,

Your schematic is quit good.

Take care to choose the right devices for 12V battery system.

Without information of your solar panel power and your location, it's hard to know your solar energy potential. You can use https://re.jrc.ec.europa.eu/pvg_tools/en/#HR to simulate your system.

Located in center of france (Bourges), a 300 Wp horizontal panel without mask with 900 Wh daily consumption will give you 9 to 24 % days with battery empty between may to august

pvbattery-47095-2411-undefined-300wp-1800wh-50-900.png

About the leisure battery, 150 Ah will give you about 900Wh usable energy.