question

-cyclops avatar image
-cyclops asked

multiplus - various questions

Hi,

I'm located in the UK and work from home. With the prospect of blackouts/load shedding/whatever you want to call it - it means that i've been looking at means to stay with power over a duration of 3 hours (as that's what the current rota suggests).

I've been monitoring the consumption of the house for a few months already, so i should have good data on what our house consumes. It's not too much. On a normal day we take about 12 kHw over 24 hours, but this includes cooking (on induction). Our normal load during the day seems to be between 200 and 400watt.

Although the victron systems make me quite greedy, i have realized that a multiplus 800va or 1200va would be enough to handle the normal load (please correct me if i didn't understand this correctly).

But, i wonder a few things:

• What happens if i do start using more than the multiplus can supply?
  • How is this wired up in a way that it works like a UPS (for the whole house)? Does it mean that all power needs to flow through the device and does it mean that the 800va/1200va is a limit the whole house would be on?
  • To calculate battery size, can i simply take the Ah of a battery and multiple it by the voltage to get the kWh? So for example a 110Ah 12v battery is 1.32kWh ? Of course, it's not 100% effective so you'd end up with (i guess) around 1.2kWh.
  • If i have a multiplus 48v - can i then also charge 24v or 12v batteries?
  • There seem to be different multiplus'es

I am pretty sure about these things from my research, but i just want to confirm here before i start pressing 'order now!' buttons online :-)

current limit
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
Jason - UK avatar image
Jason - UK answered ·