question

sharktank avatar image
sharktank asked

BMV-712 shunt install location

I recently switched our four 6V flooded batteries in our class A motorhome to two 12V lithium, and want to install a BMV-712 to monitor battery SOC. However, looking at the instructions, I'm having a difficult time figuring out where to place the smart shunt in our system. The instructions say to place in between the battery negative and all loads on the system. But our system has multiple chassis grounds, and only the inverter is directly connected to the battery bank -- all the other loads are connected to a different chassis ground. I'm relatively new at this, could someone give me a pointer on where the shunt should be installed? Do I place it in between the battery and the inverter like in the attached diagram? Or do I need to track down all of the chassis grounds and connect them all to the shunt? I looked through the forum posts and couldn't find an obvious match.tmc-outlaw-37rb-12v-shunt.jpg

BMV Battery Monitor
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
klim8skeptic avatar image
klim8skeptic answered ·

You have to move the battery chassis ground to the other side of the shunt.

bmv-coach.png

I would also move the inverter positive over to the other battery for even battery loading/charging current. It should also be fused (not shown).

bmv-coach.png (142.2 KiB)
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

sharktank avatar image sharktank commented ·
Ah, I'm new to these forums and didn't realize how it worked. See my other comment/question below
0 Likes 0 ·
Mike Dorsett avatar image
Mike Dorsett answered ·