question

chrisu avatar image
chrisu asked

Little help with Node Red: total grid power

Hello,

sorry for this noob question.
I want to make a routine based on the current total grid power. But I can only access the single values for L1/L2/L3.
Am I stupid? How can I add those numers to a total?

1665133008116.png

Node-RED
1665133008116.png (17.0 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

11 Answers
Phil Gavin avatar image
Phil Gavin answered ·

I am also a complete Node-RED noob. I don't use it for much, but total power was one of the things.

Drawing a line from an input to a dashboard output is about my lot. Manipulating the data en route is beyond my ken.

I would also like to know this very answer.

Specifically, because there used to be a Venus total power value tag available for import and export.

With a recent Venus update, these total power tags have disappeared.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

deonkorb avatar image
deonkorb answered ·

I suggest you use the Join node in manual mode. This will combine all three phase power reading into 1 message, that you can add using an expression or script.

Create a single message from separate streams of messages : Node-RED (nodered.org)

2 comments
2 |3000

nickdb avatar image nickdb ♦♦ commented ·

Ok, went back to relook at it and found the solution (in my case I am calculating total PV kWh from multiple mppts).

You need to set the msg.topic on each message and then join on that.

screenshot-2022-10-07-at-151217.png

1 Like 1 ·
The problem with this is that messages aren't always sent in the correct order. The join will just take the first 3 messages, it does not check what is sending it. Some nodes can be delayed and when joined you end up with inaccurate numbers.

I haven't found a way to reliably sequence inputs from different nodes.

0 Likes 0 ·