question

misterpitbul avatar image
misterpitbul asked

Problem : Short Circuit on a MultiPlus-II GX 48/3000/35-32 with only Main-AC connected

Dear All,

I am new in the Victron community.

I achived a Victron MultiPlus-II GX 48/3000/35-32 with the goal to build an UPS for my servers.

A 1st. test with only Main-AC connected to AC-IN was successfull; however the device went into inverter mode with only AC-OUT1 delivering power; AC-OUT2 no power (checked with a AC-tester).

Starting the device a 2nd time resulted in a short-circuit on Main-AC; another try => same result...

Did somebody experience the same problem... ?

(To confirm : Main-AC-IN has been connected correctly; Phase-to-Phase, Null-to-Null)

Pierre

Multiplus-II
7 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

Mike Dorsett avatar image Mike Dorsett commented ·
Generally not a good idea to run these without a BATTERY connected FIRST as per the manual....
1 Like 1 ·
nickdb avatar image nickdb ♦♦ Mike Dorsett commented ·
And by generally you mean NEVER a good idea, In fact the complete opposite of a smart idea.

A great way to break something.

Imagine the money victron would save not making manuals that people are determined not to read.

0 Likes 0 ·
misterpitbul avatar image misterpitbul nickdb ♦♦ commented ·

Hi,

Thanks very much for your sense of humour, but I read a lot of "official" Victron manuals; even before deciding to buy a MultiPlus-II GX... In one of those manuals it is even mentioned that the device can be operated EITHER on Main, Battery or BOTH... (see below)... Otherwise how could I configure the type/model of batteries to be used ????

Killing my batteries by using incorrect configurations during the 1st start ????

1664825985893.png

1 Like 1 ·
1664825985893.png (135.4 KiB)
misterpitbul avatar image misterpitbul misterpitbul commented ·