question

micmak avatar image
micmak asked

Quattro charge current under Charger tab

Hi,

I have a Quattro 8000 connected to BYD LVS batteries, total of 32kWh capacity. PV is AC coupled and grid is sometimes used to charge when available. I downloaded the settings done by the installer from the Quattro and saw the charge current set to 82A (number 10 in the below example, not my image, forgot to take a screenshot):

1657963510788.png

Does this value limit both AC and PV charging? The Quattro 8k can support up to 110A, so can I safely bump it to 100A? I feel my PV output is limited by this value, and I am sure my AC charging capability is limited by it. I see the battery charged at 82A max.

If the above is sane and safe, what's the easiest way to change this value? Can I change it in VE Configure I downloaded and reupload it and that's it? I've never done this before, and my installer is a bit unresponsive :)

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter Charger
1657963510788.png (573.8 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Alexandra avatar image
Alexandra answered ·

@micmak

That setting only affects what is used from grid for charging. So ideally you actually don't want it up higher. As most would rather charge from PV.

The settings that really matter are the ones done on the GX device (dvcc). And if the BYD has comms with the GX will control what the PV gives it in charge anyway.

You can also check what the BYD is requesting from the system under the BYD itself in the device list. Byd - parameters. CVL CCL etc.

You can check the important settings here.

It is possible to remote ve configure it. There are a few things you need to be aware of, one of them is to switch off your AC PV unit while you are doing it.

6 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

micmak avatar image micmak commented ·