question

aussiedreamland avatar image
aussiedreamland asked

Multiplus II - ESS - Very unstable grid although loads are fairly stable - Too much waste!

Hi there,

pretty new to the whole ESS Victron thing, but I've learnt a lot over the past weeks and I'm an electronic technician which helps a lot...;)

Here's my setup:

1x Multiplus II GX 48/3000/35-32

1x SmartSolar MPPT 250/60 (connected via VE-Bus & hooked to 4 KWP solar)

2x Plyontech US2000C Batteries (4,8 KWH)

2x PV-Inverters each hooked to 1,5 KWP solar and connected to the grid (one on L2, the other on L3) without communication to the MP.

1x Gridmeter EM24 (RS485)

Everything including the ESS (set to 0 W feed-in) has been configured and running for about 6 weeks and working quite well apart from a very unstable grid when there's not enough power coming from the PV-Inverters and the batteries aren't full yet.

The MP reacts to loads but pushes far to much energy into the grid and instead of then leveling out the fairly constant loads, the MP decreases the energy to the point where energy is pulled from the grid although the loads are still present and stable.

This happens all the time as long as there's not enough power coming from the two PV-Inverters and the batteries aren't full yet.

I don't even use the MP's charger since this only makes things worse, I only use the MPPT to charge the batteries and then I send 1500 W to the grid to make sure I always have more energy than I need. This works fine until the sun starts setting and the solar power decreases to the point where my loads are higher than the produced solar energy.

Once that happens the above issue starts all over again until all the energy is coming from the batteries, but even then, the MP is fairly unstable (sometimes up to +- 2 KW even though there's a stable load of around 300 watts).

I have been reading for weeks in the forums but haven't managed to find an answer to my problem and I'm pretty sure it's not normal.