question

anestis avatar image
anestis asked

What is the best size MPPT for my needs?

Greetings,

I am trying to design an off the grid solar system for a small and remote house and I am very new to solar power. After reading a lot of review and doing some research I’ve decided to use Victon BlueSolar MPPT for Charge Controllers and Victron MultiPlus for an Inverter.

My daily consumption is 6KWh. I will be using six LG400N3K-V6 panels. Because the panels in the array receive tree shade at different times in the day I have decided to separate them in three groups. Each group will have two panel connected in series and then to their MPPT charge controller. So I will use three MPPT charge controllers and the output of each charge controller will go through its own breaker in parallel to the battery.

The Panels have a Pmax of 400W, Vmpp of 37.2V and Voc of 45.2V . Also Isc is 11.16 A. For low Temp Voltage I added another 5V. So my Voc for low temp would be about 50V. For the two panels connected in series 100V.

I have not settled on the system’s battery yet but I am considering the BYD Premium LVS 8.0 . The Battery Nom Voltage is 51.2V but the Battery Absorption Voltage is 56.5V.

For the inverter I decided to use Victron MultiPlus 48/5000. It would give me flexibility for connecting an A/C source (Wind Turbine or Diesel Gen) to the system in the future.

My question is about what size charge controller is the correct size to use. Would the BlueSolar MPPT 100/20 be suitable for the job or should I go with the BlueSolar MPPT 150/35.

Any input and advice would be very helpful and much appreciated.

Best regards

Anestis

MPPT Controllers
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

ejrossouw avatar image ejrossouw commented ·

I'd recommend https://www.victronenergy.com/mppt-calculator as it takes into account temperature etc.

0 Likes 0 ·
1 Answer
seb71 avatar image
seb71 answered ·