question

icemanxicd avatar image
icemanxicd asked

BMV 712 % Charge and Midpoint

I have 4 6v batteries connected in Series/Paralell to create 2 12V battery banks. Batteries are brand New. I have a couple of questions as i am new to the battery monitoring, and victron.

1. My positive connection goes to one of the 12V battery banks. If i want to read the second battery bank, would i put the second cable on the positive of the second battery bank and put it into B2 utilizing the Midpoint?

2. I did not zero anything, but after a few hours of being plugged in and a light on just to get data,

I had 12.46 volts but 100% Charge. It is my understanding that

100% Charge - 12.7 Volts +

75% Charge - 12.4 Volts

50% Charge - 12.2 Volts

25% Charge - 12.0 Volts

0% Charge - 11.8 Volts

Was the Victron Just reading my first battery, first battery bank, or all 4 of my batteries.

BMV Battery Monitorinstallation
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Mark avatar image
Mark answered ·

You essentially have 2 x 12V battery banks connected in parallel (with each bank consisting of 2 x 6v batteries)

So I assume that you already have a link cable between the +12v positive & the negative between the 2 banks.

Accordingly the voltage & current readings reflect BOTH banks / all batteries together.

In reality there would be a slight variance between each bank (if you were to disconnect the link cables & measure each bank separately), but this delta would be small unless a significant imbalance exists.

For the 'mid point' measurement to work you will also need to link the mid points of the 2 battery banks - this point should be at +6v.

Ensure that you use a sufficiently large sized cable to make the mid-point link (to protect for a worst case imbalance condition/failure when significant current could flow across this cable), unless you add a fuse in between.