question

robertc avatar image
robertc asked

Victron system with multiple batteries

Hi, I have a Victron 3f setup - 3x Multiplus, 2x MPPT charger and 3x Pylontech 3000 and Cerbo. As a tech hobbyist I'm looking forward to extend my capacity with a custom 15S LiFePo4 pack to match Pylontech battery voltage and a BMS that can talk to the Cerbo via CANbus to provide the system with battery data similar how ie. Pylontech does that. Will the Cerbo work with both batteries together correctly calculating all the values together - like capacity, SOC, current draw and so on? I just could not find such an information anywhere. Thanks.

BMS48v battery
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

7 Answers
nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·

You have one shared DC bus, the system does not know what is hung off it, that is the role of the BMS to make sure all these modules balance/charge/discharge correctly.

Electrically you can’t treat banks of batteries differently when they share a common bus.

Internally all battery models are different and need to be treated that way.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·

No, you can’t mix the battery types. You can however add more of the same pylon model.

2 |3000

robertc avatar image
robertc answered ·

I know that Pylontech no matter how much of those you have, you connect only one to Cerbo which acts as a master BMS aggregating the data from other modules to a single BMS connection to Victron. So the system then just thinks it has a single battery. Does that mean that Cerbo/ or VIctron in general does not have support for having multiple BMS connected?

2 |3000

nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·

it’s a bit more complicated than that.

2 |3000

robertc avatar image
robertc answered ·