question

marrott01 avatar image
marrott01 asked

Noob here. Low voltage alarm 12/3000/120-50

Just finished my inverter install and am testing capacity with some disappointment.. I'm trying to run microwave even for a few seconds before I get a low voltage alarm and shutdown. My battery bank (2-6v 255Ah LA Duracell in series) is currently a joke but am upgrading soon. My settings in the inverter are to shutdown at 12.50v which it hits almost instantly after starting the microwave even with 100% battery SOC,.. (can I set these limits lower?) I realize this is discharging the batteries at almost 1C and perhaps the batteries cannot take it but I didn't see a discharge limit in the charge specs Deka sent me so am not sure. All cables are to the inverter are 4/0 and returning to battery (shunt first) are 4/0 and are about 6' long, my main chassis ground is only 2guage though but would this play a factor if to/from inverter goes straight to battery? Ive attached the battery specs below. And should say I have 565 watts on the roof which don't seem to be offsetting much when trying the microwave.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

screenshot-20200803-110802-adobe-acrobat.jpg

MultiPlus Quattro Inverter Charger
1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

marrott01 avatar image marrott01 commented ·

Image of install20210402-141404.jpg

0 Likes 0 ·
2 Answers
Paul B avatar image
Paul B answered ·

Hi there a Nice neat looking install there.

A 12.5 volt shut down voltage is way to HIGH change this to around 9 to 10 volts for a LA battery, Reason is that on a hi current load the voltage on a LA will drop quickly but once the hi load is removed it will bounce back,

yes the bank is a bit small so the voltage may even drop more , try to avoid that for your batteries sake

or just use the Standard settings that the inverter came with

1617420575247.png

1617420575247.png (38.0 KiB)
1 comment