question

motorheadrulz avatar image
motorheadrulz asked

DVCC vs solar/wind- which takes priority?

Newbie here. I just installed a complete RV system- Multiplus, 600W solar, MPPT, Ekrano, 12V/450 AHr lead acid batt bank.

I'm still tweaking some config settings, but have a question:

If I have the solar/wind option enabled, and then if I turn on DVCC- which feature will take priority for charging the batts, or will one disable the other, or will this make them fight it out? I can't find anything in the manuals that show the priorities/schema.

Goal: to direct use more solar when available and still maintain the batts throughout the night. I typically don't run any heavy loads- just a couple lights, furnace (12V + propane), fridge. I can run the generator if needed for the air conditioner.

Any recommendations? Thanks in advance, MHR

DVCC
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
pwfarnell avatar image
pwfarnell answered ·

Lead acid batteries do not have the full features of DVCC enabled. From the manual

Lead-acid batteries: For systems with lead-acid batteries, DVCC offers features such as a configurable system-wide charge current limit, where the GX device actively limits the inverter/charger if the solar chargers are already charging at full power.....

so you would have to set a charge current limit to make the solar have priority. You should enable DVCC anyway if you have a BMV or SmartShunt for current, voltage and temperature sharing so all chargers are working off the same data.