question

wert avatar image
wert asked

Viability of a parallel-series solar array with multiple panel sizes

Hi everyone, I have 4 solar panels on my camper van, and, due to a set of specific placement requirements, 3 are of different sizes and capacities. If my understanding of series and parallel hookups is correct, I believe I ought to be able to do a parallel-series combo into one Victron 100 | 50 MPPT controller with a minimal 3w efficiency hit. I'm still learning as I go along, so I'd appreciate a sanity check and advice from the experts here.

amps figure is maximum power current, and volts are max power voltage.

Here are the panels:

120w panel

6.27A

19.14v

250w panel

13.2A

18.9v

2x 200w panels

9.71A

20.6v

I figure I can connect the 120w and 250w together in parallel to combine amperages. I lose .24v (1.5w) on the 120w panel, resulting in 368.5w output.

So: 120w+250w:

368.5w

19.47A

18.9v

Then, for the other two panels, I connect the two 200w together in parallel for 19.42A and 20.6v.

So 200w x2:

400w

19.42A

20.6v.

Lastly, I connect the two pairs in series, combining voltages. I lose .05A on the 368.5w pair, resulting in 367w. Adding this with the 400w array, I end up with 767w, losing just 3w.

Final combined array:

767w

19.42A

39.5v

I have a Victron MPPT 150 | 50 controller I was planning on using. at <40v, <20a, I'm well under that 150v, 50A figure. For some reason the online calculator is saying I should size up to the 60A-- should I be concerned? I could actually size down to a 100 | 30 and still be well within spec, right?

Also, are there any issues using MC4 parallel branch connectors and 8AWG MC4 extender cables to join the two sides in series for a 15ft run? The only limitation I hear is MC4 should be kept under 30A, which I'm still under.

And, the cable run inside the van might be 8AWG, but the individual cables attached to each solar panel might not be. Is there a risk of, say, the 250w melting something on the 120w?