question

Paul Lapierre avatar image
Paul Lapierre asked

2 controllers one array question again....

I apologize if this has been asked and answered before but I did see similar posts and the answers were "no" hoping my variation may be more acceptable.

I have one PV array and one set of underground wires coming to house. I used the Victron MPPT calculator and chose the appropriate MPPT (150/35) what I did not realize is that in my current PV configuration (6 panels 480W 2S3P) am I running about 500% over paneled but this was allowable (I had selected the go over 130% option on webpage). I am a newbie and now realize my mistake. As I can not easily run another set of PV wires (beside I prefer to run them at a higher voltage - less drop).

My question is: if I purchase another 150/35 MPPT controller and link the two MPPT on the same Victron network (VE.Smart Networking) . Would they not work together and choose the same optimal voltage etc.... and not "compete". They would still each be about 200% over paneled but I could live with that.

Can I also have them charge the same battery bank? Alternatively, I could divide my bank in two as I have 2 inverters already.

I understand this setup may not be optimal but would it work?

Thanks for your help.

MPPT Controllers
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
Justin Cook avatar image
Justin Cook answered ·

It is not possible to connect two controllers to a single PV array; the array needs to be split, or an appropriate single controller selected.

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kevgermany avatar image
kevgermany answered ·

Charging the same bank isn't a problem.

Working back from your over panelling comments, looks as if you're already on a 48V battery bank. If I'm wrong and you're on 24V, it doesn't help to increase as you already have inverters.