question

mercu1 avatar image
mercu1 asked

Battery Monitor Intermittent Overload Current

As you may know, Victron does not provide direct support to anyone except authorized dealers and distributors and the Victron distributor known as ARW Maritime has directed me to this forum. I am seeking an answer from Victron Engineering.

I am an electrical engineer and an ABYC certified marine electrician. I am seeking some support regarding an installation of a Victron BMV-712 battery monitor.

This is a marine application. I am using the standard 500A/50mv shunt supplied with the BMV-712. The battery bank that is being monitored has a bow thruster connected to the battery. The bow thruster is an intermittent load and draws well over 500 amps. Because the load is intermittent I am not worried about damaging the shunt. It will be a lot of trouble for me to disconnect the thruster negative cable from the battery and reconnect it to the load side of the shunt so I don’t want to do that if it will not help anything. What do I mean by “if it will not help anything”. The BMV-712 measures amp-hours. I suspect that when current in the shunt exceeds 500A the monitor will not accurately measure amp-hours. I suspect it will not measure amp-hours at all. If this is the case then I will not bother to connect the thruster negative cable to the load side of the shunt and I will leave it as is which is connected directly to battery negative. I understand that another system design approach would be to use a shunt with higher current rating. I have some reasons for not wanting to do that. I would rather except some inaccuracy that may come with intermittent overload of the shunt.