question

hibrn8 avatar image
hibrn8 asked

can i set my charger to charge the Ah of a battery quicker?

I have a BSC IP65 24/8 charger for my 24V 75Ah mobility scooter (my original scooter charger is a 24v 5A charger). Problem I see is once it reaches the high end of it's charge cycle the Ah of the batteries are about a 3rd of what I need to get full milage from the batteries.
Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this or what I should realistically expect?

battery capacity
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

1 Answer
Al avatar image
Al answered ·

Are you hoping it charges more quickly? Are you charging fully? It will take 8 hours or so to fully charge from 50% discharge assuming it's a lead battery. Longer if it's drained lower and not normally best practice if it is drained lower.

Is the absorption charge voltage 28.8v? Is that what your battery recommends? A higher voltage will charge a bit more quickly but can damage the battery if to high or shorten the battery life. A bit more info is needed to understand what settings and batteries you have and what the issue actually is.

3 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

hibrn8 avatar image hibrn8 commented ·

Hi Al, thanks for the response.

Yes, I am definitely hoping it charges quicker (as in the Ah are replenished quicker. It's charges to voltage fine but the Ah are "lacking". The batteries are in my mobility scooter so if I go out for a normal day I can cover 20km's easily).

The batteries are lead acid (2 x 12v 75Ah AGM deep cycle batteries). The scooter has a range of 50km between charges. I do on average at least 20km most days but can easily do 30km in a day.

The absorption voltage of 28.8v, correct. I have no idea what the battery recommends to be honest. Will try to find out