question

davo00 avatar image
davo00 asked

IP22 charger going straight to Absorption

I have a Victron BSC IP22 12/30 charger and a 120AH Lithium battery When I connect to 240v power, the charger immediately shows a voltage of 14.2v goes straight to Absorption, irrespective of the actual voltage. The charger is set to the Li-ion profile. Below are screenshots from both the IP22 and Smartshunt.

Can anybody suggest how I can get it to Bulk charge before going to Absorption?

ip22
ip22.png (217.0 KiB)
smartshunt.png (281.9 KiB)
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

19 Answers
mvader (Victron Energy) avatar image
mvader (Victron Energy) answered ·

Hi @Eric Edwards , and others answering on this (rather old) thread that worry if they have a bug in firmware:

Ofcourse, if there is indeed a problem in the firmware, we'll for sure sort it out. Similarly, broken chargers we'll replace. Do note that the issue that started this thread was no broken charger. It was a connection/wiring-issue between charger and the battery.

But before I have some questions, please allow me to explain this:

Until now, every time such report came up, it was in the end determined to be an issue due to a faulty connection between battery and charger. For example a blown fuse, or some other system issue. Not in the charger, and for sure no firmware bug.

We test the firmware extensively before release. In our labs, and in a field test group. And also have not pushed out any firmware updates recently, and keep in mind that there are several hundred thousands of chargers out there in the field, if not even more.

The last firmware update released was on 2021-10-07, in VictronConnect v5.48. And then specifically it was version v3.42 for the IP22 rev2 chargers, (serial no HQ2024nnnnn and later); as an optional update. Not mandatory.

--------

Troubleshooting an IP 22 charger