question

scubasail avatar image
scubasail asked

Victron 100/30 doesn't rise to absorption

Hello,

this new 100/30 is set to "User defined" battery profile with 13.9V absorption for 1 minute and 13.4 V float (equalization not used but set to 14.0V) however every morning it brings the LFP batts from around 13.0V o 13.1V to 13.4V but never tries to get them to 13.9V as can be seen on the graph.

I read in a different post here that it needs a minimum drop of 0.1V for LFP before it rises to absorption. What is the required drop for this "user defined" profile then?

battery charging
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
stevecounsell avatar image
stevecounsell answered ·

I’m no expert but maybe the Absorbtion Stage is not long enough. I think I’ve read on this community that absorbtion should be set to 30 minutes and you have it set to 1 minute.

But as I say, I’m no expert.

2 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

scubasail avatar image scubasail commented ·

Thanks Steve, it was deliberately set to 1 minute to effectively turn the absorption phase off, since you don't want that with LFP batts.

1 Like 1 ·
stevecounsell avatar image stevecounsell scubasail commented ·

I’ve misunderstood your question; i thought you were trying to get the MPPT to push absorbtion voltage :)

0 Likes 0 ·
mvader (Victron Energy) avatar image
mvader (Victron Energy) answered ·

Hi, try increasing absorption time; and, measure at the mppt terminals. And check what the mppt itself is measuring; and what state it is in.

I really cant see a reason for it to go from bulk (which normally ends once the voltage has risen to absorption voltage) before it has done so.

I’m not sure what the 0.1V drop is referring to.

Lastly: check temperature compensation.

14 comments
2 |3000

scubasail avatar image scubasail commented ·