question

kfl avatar image
kfl asked

Maximize Solar Use when Grid is Available

I am no expert but ...... I have a solar array and can generate in excess of 2kw of power from early in the morning, but the system seems to like GRID power more than SOLAR.

Below is a screenshot of the system when the grid is available . (note the high use of grid power and ESS enabled )

Obviously I would like to use more Solar Power so i turn off the mains and a second later get .......

Surely the system should prioritize solar use, otherwise what's the point in having solar - you might as well have just an inverter.

I would assume that VICTRON - have an easy way to enable the prioritization of SOLAR power and that their Inverter control systems are intelligent enough to know that it does not really matter if the batteries discharge in the early hours of the morning because the sun will be up in a couple of hours and there will be plenty of power to charge them back up. I would not even be surprised if the system took into consideration the forecasted weather conditions and historic usage in deciding on what actions to take.

What am am surprised about is that in most of the Question replies I see Victron staff explaining how to write code and python scripts to try and implement this ........ surely this should be part of their solution?

If anyone has some not technical easy solution - I would greatly appreciate the help.

Thanks.

solar
4 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

laurentscholtz avatar image laurentscholtz commented ยท
I have exactly the same question. i would prefer the soalr to feed the house first, and then use the remainder to recharge the battery. I am using too much Grid initially, and then not using surplus solar later.
0 Likes 0 ยท
nickdb avatar image nickdb โ™ฆโ™ฆ laurentscholtz commented ยท