question

autonomous avatar image
autonomous asked

48V LiFePo4 Battery with MPPT Maximum Output Voltage exceeding 61v

I have a 2180W PV array in series providing 189V (13A Max) to a Victron 250/60 feeding a 48v battery bank with LiFePo4 200A BMS batteries. I am using the battery setting "Smart Lithium (LiFePo4)" to manage output to the battery bank. 56.8V is supposed to be the max output voltage however it frequently exceeds 61V and this is causing issues with my inverter which flips into max input voltage protection mode. This controller should never exceed 57-58V but it does frequently going from Absorb to Float and my invert shuts down. I am new to Victron but I have 12 or so off grid systems operational for many years using other controllers which don't have issues using presets. They work right out of the box as they should. Since this is my first experience with Victron and these controllers cost considerably more I was expecting an easy plug n play setup.

I have checked all cables fuses and wiring. I have turned off the controller removing all power and turned it back on. I have update all firmware and apps. I have turned off the PV array and back on again. When PV is off the inverter works fine for as long as I have power in the batteries.

Is there a way to limit the MPPT output to keep it from spiking the batteries/inverter with 60V or more because the "Smart Lithium (LiFePo4)" preset is not working to spec and a 48V battery bank should not be subjected to 60V+?

Any other suggestions are welcome.

48volt charging
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

3 Answers
autonomous avatar image
autonomous answered ·