question

stratanet avatar image
stratanet asked

Modbus TCP Basics

Hi guys,

I'm completely stuck. I've got a Venus GX on my bench that I'm trying to interface to an Eltek SmartPack S battery charger via Modbus TCP. I was told that Modbus is really easy to use, but my experiences are far from it.

So far, I have the Venus GX set to Modbus enabled, and on the Eltek unit I've set it to allow the GX's IP. But I have no idea how to get them talking (they're on the same physical network/subnet).

Everything I read online points to the CCGX Modbus TCP Register List, but that's just a bunch of stuff that I don't understand (yet) - nor can I find out where to enter such values. Surely other people are stuck on the basics? I've never used Modbus before, and have searched these forums and Google extensively, but can't figure out how to even get the Venus GX communicating to another device.

I really like the Venus GX units and we've started deploying them on all sites including solar etc. Using CAN bus on them is super easy, as with VE Direct etc.

Could someone point me in the right direction? I've got the Eltek charger on loan pending if I can get this working - I've got a box of about 10 Venus GX's here and another 100 or so more to order if I can get them doing what I need them to!

Thanks,
Richard.

Venus GX - VGXModbus TCPgx device
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

10 Answers
stratanet avatar image
stratanet answered ·

Bump. Does anyone know how to do this?

5 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

I've moved this to the modifications space where there is more experience with Modbus.

While you wait, Try reading through the Modbus Community Topic.

0 Likes 0 ·
stratanet avatar image stratanet Guy Stewart (Victron Community Manager) ♦♦ commented ·