question

norrland avatar image
norrland asked

Staging an ESS install into multiple installs (swedish tax system)

Summary is:

I was trying to think of ways to stage/spread an ESS purchase across tax years such that each stage is usable and the final result is a 3-phase capable multiplus install with at least the minimum required battery capacity.

Some background:
At one point I previously lived off grid with a Victron multiplus based system for about 4 years in the UK so I'm happy with understanding basic solar install concepts but that was some years ago and I am new to on-grid/ESS. I am now living in northern Sweden. We have solar with a grid-tie inverter but would like to make the move to add batteries. Our existing solar installer uses another brand that is cheap but isn't flexible/intelligent. I guess I really miss living with the flexibility of my old multiplus. I would like to go Victron if possible and so I was considering how we might be able to install a multiplus II ESS system and have been reading up on the current products. Cost is an issue however so I was looking to take maximum advantage of the tax relief, which is where it gets complicated.

In Sweden, there is currently a 50% tax reduction for battery installs including connecting hardware needed for the batteries to work (like inverters/chargers), up to roughly 50k SEK per year (approx $4650/€4300/£3800 maximum reduction on twice that amount). I'm on a 16 amp 3-phase feed. Our largest electric loads currently are a ground source heatpump which maxes out at a worst of about 8kw and a 2kw oven. I was thinking an end result of 3x 5000VA multiplus II would work for anything I might do now or in the future.

The problem:
So I was trying to think of ways to spread the installation, and hence tax benefit, across multiple years. But it needs to be a working (completed) install at each step to qualify is my understanding.

Maybe solution: