question

ronski avatar image
ronski asked

Scheduled discharge flow, includes charging time to go as well

Disclaimer: You use this entirely at your own risk, I'm not an expert, and I only started using Node Red and Javascript in March (about 6 weeks ago!). Satisfy yourself that this does what you need, and does it safely, I'm not responsible for any problems however caused, and share this for the community to adapt to their needs.

I required scheduled discharging, which Victron doesn't support, also I couldn't find any available flows, so after some research and a quick bit of learning I've come up with my own.

dashboard-scheduled-discharge.jpg

I've also added a graph, which can be useful for seeing what's going on.

graph.jpg

The aim is to ensure that the battery is discharging the set wattage, so it calculates the grid set point taking into account total PV power, total AC loads and the discharge rate you want, it will then set the grid set point to that value. It calculates this every once every minute, I've built in an adjustable range so you can change the frequency the set point is changed, if the new set point is within + or - the range value of the existing set point it is not changed. This reduces the frequency that the set point changes, I've no idea if changing it too often could cause issues (see this thread), so I've set the timer to run once a minute, and the range value will further reduce the amount of times its changed. There is also a minium SOC of charge setting, once reached just the excess solar will be exported until the timer turns off.

I've been running this for a couple of weeks, making the odd modification, and it seems to be working well.

My grid set point is normally set to 0, so if yours is different you will need to alter the flow so that it sets it back to the value that you use.

There are sliders & reset buttons for the following:

Schedule on off switch.
Maximum grid set point - sets maximum allowed grid export.