question

Jared Bovill avatar image
Jared Bovill asked

How do I run custom python scripts on Raspberry pi running Venus OS?

Speaking as a complete noob at this. I need to be able to run custom python scripts in general. Meaning I want to be able to have custom libraries, modules and scripts running at boot. Can anyone please provide me a detailed step by step explanation to this problem? Specifically how I can run scripts that need gpio access like relays or temp sensors(examples not looking for those specifically). Im not really looking for alternatives to python but I will take what will work. And lastly what do I put in the rc.local file to run scripts because I cannot figure that out for the life of me.

Thanks

python
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

6 Answers
von-baron avatar image
von-baron answered ·

What type of system are you using for the Python scripts, an independent GNU/Linux based system, Intel or ARM such as orange or apple or raspberry Pi ?

For all my Python development I always use systemd as the manager. I have never used rc.local as a way to do this.

Systemd can do everything I need, get programs running on boot and restart if needed. Plenty of online information on its use.

For systemd , you make a unit file (a text config file) that describes the actions.

But reading what you want to do, I would look at using a micro-controller, maybe even an Arduino type board and have it do all the analogue and digital processing. Then it can supply that to your system as a modbus slave, say modbus RTU or TCP.