question

mmh avatar image
mmh asked

Slow battery charging

I work in a hospital in Mulanje (Malawi). We have recently connected 6 Quattro (6x15kW) with 6 Fronius Symo (6x15kW) AC-coupled. We have 6 battery banks (29 batteries in total). Each bank has a BMV and battery capacity of 500Ah (5x100Ah). 1 bank is different with 400Ah (4x100Ah). It is in Malawi not allowed to feed back to the grid. The system is running pretty good but we are dealing with the next issue.

When there is not enough solarpower to provide the load of the hospital and to charge the batteries the system is not using the grid to charge the batteries. For example we have a powercut and the batteries will be discharged until 8% and the powercut is over it will not start charging the batteries from the grid to the minimum SOC set in the ESS. Also not when i enable the setting 'keep battery charged'. Only when there is enough solarpower it will use the batteries to store the load. what can i do to change this? See pictures for more info. Thanks in advance.ess-settings-battery.jpgcerbo-dashboard-on-rainy-day.jpg

battery chargingESS
4 comments
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

seb71 avatar image seb71 commented ·

ESS should stop the discharge when the SOC reaches Minimum SOC and grid is present.

In your last screenshot that is not the case.

So it seems that ESS is not working.

Is the ESS Assistant configured and running in all the Quattro inverters?

Yeah, in 3-phase setup, all inverters should be connected to the same battery.

0 Likes 0 ·
marekp avatar image marekp seb71 commented ·
@Seb71

His problem is with system not charging from the grid when grid is back from being down.

But when grid is down battery will by drained down to zero.

Probably what we see is the moment when grid is back after long down period.

0 Likes 0 ·
seb71 avatar image seb71 marekp commented ·