question

richos avatar image
richos asked

Which MPPT Charge controller would you recommend for a flexible panel?

Hi I’m new to all this solar stuff I have a 300 watt flexible monocrystalline solar panel Max 18volt, max power 16.6A & open circuit 22.4volt and want to purchase a Victron MPPT charge controller to go with this to charge 3 batteries on my boat 1x 160amp hr & 2 x 97 amp hr batteries what charge controller would you recommend. Any help appreciated. Thanks Richo

MPPT SmartSolar
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

5 Answers
marc-de-montreal avatar image
marc-de-montreal answered ·

hi, 300w divided by 12v give 25amp to the battery bank.. if you don’t think to expend your solar, a 30-35amp controller is enough for your system!

2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

richos avatar image
richos answered ·

Hi Marc-de-montreal thanks for your quick reply so I don't really have any room to expand solar panels so will probably just go with this 300watt panel. So are you saying a Victron SmartSolar MPPT 100/30 12 volts would be ok for the batteries I have? Thanks Rico

2 |3000

marc-de-montreal avatar image
marc-de-montreal answered ·

yes Rico, go for the 100/30 model and have fun with it!!

1 comment
2 |3000

richos avatar image richos commented ·

Cheers thanks marc I will.

0 Likes 0 ·
dazey77 avatar image
dazey77 answered ·

A 100/20 smartsolar would also be a decent choice. Realistically the controller will rarely ever limit the output. You also get a load output and save some money but there isn't that much in it.

Got to say I really don't get how your battery bank is connected.

10 comments
2 |3000

marc-de-montreal avatar image marc-de-montreal commented ·