question

bob-thompson avatar image
bob-thompson asked

MPPT 75/15 voltages

Complete nooby here. I have a very basic system with a 410 watt PV panel feeding a MPPT 75/15 feeding two AGM 100 Ah batteries in parallel. From the power out on the MPPT I have a small diesel heater and some USB charging ports. When I bought the MPPT I didn't realise that there are two types so bought a non-bluetooth one. I made a cable and plugged it into a Raspberry pi 4 running the Victron OS. I can read the output on my phone or my PC.
I am now wondering if I should have the batteries in series and running that side as 24 volt system. Would the two output terminals on the MPPT still give out 12 volts for my diesel heater of would that then become 24 volts output?
I think that the PV is oversized for the system so can change back to a 130 watt one in the summer if needed, does that make sense?

MPPT SmartSolar
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

7 Answers
wjha avatar image
wjha answered ·

Well all MPPT sense the changed battery voltage and work accordingly. So, connect 24V batteries - MPPT will serve 24V.

About the dimension - you don't give any information. IMHO - if you are not really near the equator you will only experience a yield less than 50% of the peak power. So in the Med you might get 200 - 300W at high noon.

1 comment
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

kevgermany avatar image kevgermany ♦♦ commented ·
Voltage sensing is on first startup/commissioning. Changing the battery voltage may or may not be recognised by the MPPT. A manual check/reset is needed, as explained in the manual.
0 Likes 0 ·
pwfarnell avatar image
pwfarnell answered ·