question

Jaco van Niekerk avatar image
Jaco van Niekerk asked

ESS Scheduled Charging logic problem

I am brand new to Solar and Victron. I did some research before selecting my solution and I might have miss understood the Victron Scheduled Charging.

I am extremely happy with the solution and I am busy looking at optimizing my system:

9x 460 panels

1x MPPT 450/100

1x Multiplug II 48/5000/70-50

1x Cerbo GX

1x ES12K Lithium Battery

Currently we are in Winter in the southern hemisphere om South Africa, Johannesburg. The next couple of months we will have perfect solar production. Clear sky and great sun periods.

Looking too our summer and raining months I want to optimize the battery charging:

Expected behavior:

Optimized with battery life

1. During the day - Charge the battery via PV

2. Grid Scheduled Charging - Between 17:00-17:30 charge the battery SOC to 80% (Poor PV production days/week)

3. Minimum SOC (unless grid fail) - 40% (As long as the grid is available it won't allow the battery to go below 40%, if grid is not available it will run until empty/battery limiter activates)

4. Active SOC limit - 50%

Observed behavior:

Optimized with battery life

1. During the day - Charges battery via the PV

2. Grid Scheduled Charging - 17:00-17:30 or SOC < 80% PV and battery (Grid charging took place outside of the hours specified) I am assuming because of the OR

3. Minimum SOC (unless grid fail) - 40%

4. Active SOC limit - changed to 80%

Any solutions will be welcomed and also please correct me were I am miss understanding?

NB: Can't get the Active SOC limit changed, it's stuck at 80%. Waiting for a 100% full charge to take place.

ESSscheduled charge
2 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 190.8 MiB each and 286.6 MiB total.

2 Answers
nickdb avatar image
nickdb answered ·